City of Wellsville 411 Main Wellsville, KS 66092

The regular meeting of the Wellsville City Council was held on Wednesday, May 8th 2024 in the Wellsville City Hall meeting room located at 411 Main Street. Councilmen present were Chuck Rutledge, Cory Cunningham, Luke Henry, Scott Hutchinson and Nichole Pruitt. Department heads present were City Superintendent Darien Kerr, Police Chief Danny Hackler, Building and Codes officials Pat Burton and Isaac Mallory.

Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to approve the consent agenda and the minutes from the previous meeting. Councilman Luke Henry seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Mayor Lytle opened the meeting up for public comments.

Paul Bean with the FCDC spoke regarding our grant requests and identified 4 projects in a previous meeting with staff.

1. Pendleton 2. South Main Storm drain 3. Slip lining 4. Fourth Street K-33 to Hunt

Lorrie Glass with the Chamber of Commerce talked about the Rural Champions grant who will also pay for a coordinator.

County Commissioner Don Stottlemire gave the County report.

Chief Robert Thomas gave the Fire Department activity report. Kim is studying for her Paramedic license and he stated calls are down.

The term appointments were presented for the Library board, zoning board of appeals and the Planning Commission.

Zoning Board of Appeals: Library Board:

Member-Lesli Campbell
Member-Elba Unruh
Member-Scott Gage
Member-Kathy Gharst
Member-Bill Oshel
Secretary-Tammy Jones

President-Kandace Kline
Vice President-Ann Unruh
Secretary-Alise Chandler
Treasurer-Emily Bradbury
NKLS Rep-Rita Anderson
Member-Becky MacDonald

Planning Commission: Member-Robert Thomas Chairman-Jeanine Berrier Secretary-Kari Rogers Vice Chairman-Sarah Klamm

Member-Casey Lytle City Attorney: Lee Hendricks

Member-Lee Martin Judge: Nathan Sutton

Member-Joel Partridge Member-Stacy Bless Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to approve the Zoning Appeals board appointments as presented. Councilman Luke Henry seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Luke Henry moved to approve the Library board as presented. Councilman Cory Cunningham seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to approve the Planning Commission board as presented. Councilwoman Nichole Pruitt seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to approve Lee Hendricks as the City Attorney and Prosecutor. Councilwoman Nichole Pruitt seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Luke Henry motioned to approve Nathan Sutton as the Judge. Councilman Chuck Rutledge seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

The Council President position was presented and voted on for 2024-2025. Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to approve Luke Henry as the President. Councilwoman Nichole Pruitt seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

City Superintend Darien Kerr gave the Public Works activity report. The new storm siren with pole was brought before council. The storm siren in Glenwood isn't working, Darien got pricing on a replacement panel and or a new system.

Councilwoman Nichole Pruitt moved to approve the new storm siren in the amount of \$32,401.30. Councilman Cory Cunningham seconded. Motion passed 4-0.

Councilman Luke Henry voted no.

Chief Danny Hackler gave a demonstration of the Flock system and how it works.

Building Inspector Isaac Mallory asked about the cities permit for our new public works shed. Pat Burton stated we may have to go to the Zoning Appeals Board.

Chuck Rutledge motioned to recess into executive session at 6:44 p.m. to discuss performance of non-elected personnel pursuant to KSA 75-4319(b)(1). The open meeting will resume in the City Council chambers at 7:00 p.m. Councilman Scott Hutchinson seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Scott Hutchinson moved to come out of executive session. Councilman Chuck Rutledge seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Cory Cunningham motioned to approve a salary increase for Renner Speer to \$23.00 per hour. Councilman Luke Henry seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Councilman Luke Henry motioned to adjourn the meeting. Councilman Cory Cunningham seconded. Motion passed 5-0.

Meeting adjourned at 7:02 p.m.

City Clerk Tammy Jones